April 22, 2019

Spring Memoir Intensives

 

Join us this spring 2019 for two memoir intensives.

SPRING INTENSIVE 1: What Made The Tender Bar a Best-Selling Memoir?

FREE WEBINAR: March 5
4-week Class: March 12, March 19, March 26, April 2

 

SPRING INTENSIVE 2: Mastering Structure: Unlock the Foundation of Your Memoir
4-week Class Master Class: April 23, April 30, May 7, May 14

 

*Spring Special* for both courses through March 9 ($179—a $49 savings)

*Only interested in one class? That’s great too. Register here!

Credit Card:

PayPal:


 

ABOUT THE SPRING INTENSIVES:

 

WHAT MADE J.R. MOEHRINGER’S THE TENDER BAR A BEST-SELLING MEMOIR?

This beloved memoir is famous for its depiction of American bar culture, its themes of social isolation, growing up fatherless, and navigating the demands of masculinity. Our free webinar and 4-week class focuses on what memoirists can learn from J.R. Moehringer’s structure, narration, and tightly focused themes as he propels readers through his adolescence and early adulthood with adept observations and vivid language that hold lessons for memoirists of all stripes.

FREE WEBINAR: MARCH 5 at 4pm PT | 5pm MT | 6pm CT | 7pm ET

Class 1—March 12: HOW TO CREATE A “STRUCTURAL DREAM” FOR YOUR MEMOIR—what The Tender Bar has to teach us about the power of linear structures and tightly woven themes.

Class 2—March 19: THE ROMANCE OF PLACE—how to paint a picture that enchants your reader.

Class 3—March 26: CHARACTER/CHARACTERIZATION—making your reader fall in love with your characters—with all their charms and flaws.

Class 4—April 2: NARRATION—using the reflective narrator to write about things a younger version of you did not know or could not have articulated.

 

MASTERING STRUCTURE: UNLOCK THE FOUNDATION OF YOUR MEMOIR

In this 4-week craft intensive, we’ll lead you through the nuts and bolts of structure—why it matters, how it will support you to write a better, more saleable memoir, and what tools are at your disposal to support you to keep your structure intact while simultaneously focusing on good storytelling and craft.

Class 1—April 23: WRAPPING YOUR MIND AROUND STRUCTURE—where to start, whether you’re in the idea phase of your memoir or already have a full draft.

Class 2—April 30: WHAT STRUCTURES EXIST—an overview of 5 memoir structures: linear, braided associative, framed, and circular.

Class 3—May 7: TRADITIONAL STORY ARCS—when to use them and when to abandon them.

Class 4—May 14: TOOLS THAT SUPPORT STRUCTURE—things you can do to get organized around craft, plot, and thinking through your reflections/takeaways.