August 22, 2019

Fall Memoir Classes


Join us this fall 2019 for two exciting memoir events.

*FALL SPECIAL* for both courses through September 1st ($199—a $49 savings)

*Only interested in one class? That’s great too. Register here.

September 13: A DAY OF MEMOIR MAGIC

Join Linda Joy and Brooke and our amazing guests—New York Times best-selling author Lidia Yuknavitch (The Chronology of Water), industry expert Jane Friedman, and literary agent Regina Brooks.

10am PT/1pm ET: Opening the Door to the Magic, with Linda Joy Myers

Linda Joy Myers kicks off the day with how to begin your memoir, and how to listen to the stirrings inside to continue on and know which threads to follow. This hour is an exploration of desire, what keeps us coming back to our memoirs, and how writing leads to more remembering.

11am PT/2pm ET: Narrative Arc and the Development of YOU, with Brooke Warner

Brooke Warner offers a hands-on hour focused on the craft of narration—and how to track and follow the threads of your story given the many iterations of self and what you did or didn’t know when. She touches upon authenticity, truth, and self-expression, leaving you more grounded and empowered in your voice.

Noon PT/3pm ET: How to Write Beyond the Play-By-Play to Touch Your Readers’ Hearts, with Lidia Yuknavitch

Lidia Yuknavitch teaches memoir as “lifestory” which bridges to a reader’s life. She introduces storytelling strategies that move beyond events that have happened to us in our lives, and also touches upon the fear factor that can stop memoirists in their tracks. Importantly, she speaks to what writers can do to transform their fear into creative inspiration.

1pm PT/4pm ET—The Many Paths to Your Publishing Dream, with Regina Brooks

Literary agent Regina Brooks brings a memoir-specific lens to this hour on publishing paths, explaining what options are available to memoirists in today’s publishing climate. Regina informs aspiring authors about everything they need to know, bringing on-the-ground insight into the industry’s current relationship with this genre.

1pm PT/4pm ET: Writing for Love and Money, with Jane Friedman

Industry expert Jane Friedman closes the day with an important lesson on the business of being a writer. Because money is often a taboo subject for writers, Jane shines a light on it, giving authors clear-eyed and strategic information about developing revenue streams and a business model best suited to their personality, their writing, and their career expectations.

Early-bird registration: $149. Check out the details and more about our guest teachers HERE.


WHAT MADE INHERITANCE A BEST-SELLING MEMOIR?

Mondays, Sept 16-30 & Oct 7 at 4pm PT / 7pm ET

This 4-week course focuses on what memoirists can learn from Dani Shapiro’s take on writing what you know, circling your obsessions, and finding your truth in your unique voice. We will focus on the power of universal writing, supporting your reader to feel and experience your story as their own, and how to weave narration (and narrative voice) between the past and the present.


Class 1 (Sept 16): HONORING THE STORY THAT WON’T LEAVE YOU ALONE

A look at the “unthought known” and obsession and how to use these to your advantage (and ward off your critics).

Class 2 (Sept 23): HARNESSING SELF-UNDERSTANDING IN MEMOIR

How to write about who you think you are, making sense of the complicated layers of self, and unpacking other people’s motivations in your story.

Class 3 (Sept 30): WEAVING IN THE PAST TO MAKE SENSE OF THE PRESENT

How to use narration to integrate your story (through tense, memory, flashback, and skillful transitions.

Class 4 (Oct 7): THE POWER OF UNIVERSAL WRITING

How to make your writing resonant to readers no matter what your life experience or theirs, taking a deep look at reflection, takeaway, and finding meaning in scenes and in prose.

Early-bird registration: $99.