December 18, 2017

Everything You Need to Know about Publishing Your Memoir, Start to Finish

little-manJuly 30, 2015

10am – 4pm Pacific | 1pm – 7pm Eastern

COST: $24.99

 

ABOUT THE DAY

This is an online event, via webinar (GoToWebinar). You can come and go as you please. All the sessions will be recorded and available the day after the live event. We will not be selling the archive.

10 am PT | 1pm ET
What Agents and Editors Expect, with Gordon Warnock (Fuse Literary)

11am PT | 2pm ET
How to Go from Draft to Final Manuscript, with Linda Joy Myers (National Association of Memoir Writers)

noon PT | 3pm ET
How to Create a Knockout (Memoir-Specific) Platform, with Dan Blank (We Grow Media)

1pm PT | 4pm ET
What You Need to Know about Submitting to Editors and Publishers, with Stephanie Knapp (Seal Press/Perseus Books Group)

2pm PT | 5pm ET
What Your Cover Says to the World about Your Memoir, with Tamara Dever (TLC Graphics)

3pm PT | 6pm ET
How to Sell Your Memoir, Step-by-Step*, with Brooke Warner (She Writes Press)

*Brooke’s session includes a copy of her ebook, How to Sell Your Memoir: 12 Steps to a Perfect Book Proposal.

 

YOUR EXPERTS FOR THE DAY

Gordon-WarnockGordon Warnock is a founding partner at Fuse Literary, serving as a literary agent and Editorial Director of Short Fuse Publishing. He brings years of experience as a senior agent, marketing director, editor for independent publishers, publishing consultant, and author coach. He frequently teaches workshops and gives keynote speeches at conferences and MFA programs nationwide. He is an honors graduate of CSUS with a B.A. in Creative and Professional Writing.

 

 

myersLinda Joy Myers is President of the National Association of Memoir Writers, and has been a therapist for 35 years. She’s the award winning author of Don’t Call Me Mother; The Power of Memoir: How to Write Your Healing Story; The Journey of Memoir; and Becoming Whole: Writing Your Healing Story. Don’t Call Me Mother and Becoming Whole were finalists in the ForeWord Magazine’s Book of the Year Award. Linda co-teaches the program “Write Your Memoir in Six Months,” and offers editing and coaching for writers. Find Linda online at www.namw.org and Memoriesandmemoirs.com and on Twitter @memoirguru.

DanBlankDan Blank is the founder of WeGrowMedia, where he helps writers share their stories and connect with readers. He has helped hundreds of authors via online courses, events, consulting, and workshops, and worked with amazing publishing houses and organizations who support writers such as Random House, Hachette Book Group, Workman Publishing, Abrams Books, Writers House, The Kenyon Review, Writer’s Digest, Library Journal, and many others. He is also the author of the forthcoming book, Dabblers vs. Doers, aimed at helping creative professionals work through risk as they develop their craft and build a meaningful body of work. You can find Dan on his blog at WeGrowMedia.com or on Twitter at @DanBlank.

KnappStephanie Knapp is an acquisitions editor for Seal Press, and imprint of The Perseus Books Group. Stephanie is looking for projects that approach universal topics in unexpected ways and enlighten readers with fresh and meaningful ideas. Stephanie is most excited about projects with an individual voice, an unapologetic message, and an irresistible narrative arc. Stephanie began her career at Rodale after learning the publishing ropes with internships at Foundry Literary + Media and the David Black Agency. Before that Stephanie was with Crown and Crown Archetype from 2011-2014.

Dever-TamaraTamara Dever is the founder of TLC Graphics, an international award-winning book design and production firm providing customized support to authors and small publishers with big dreams. For 20 years, they’ve been dedicated to bringing to fruition the passion of each client, making TLC an invaluable member of publishing teams across the country and beyond. Tamara mentors aspiring designers, writes articles, and presents classes on book design and self-publishing. She lives in Austin, Texas with her husband, their two children, two dogs, and a horse.

WarnerBrooke Warner is publisher of She Writes Press, president of Warner Coaching Inc., and author of What’s Your Book? and How to Sell Your Memoir, and the co-author with Linda Joy Myers of Breaking Ground on Your Memoir. Brooke’s expertise is in traditional and new publishing. She sits on the boards of the Independent Book Publishers Association, the Bay Area Book Festival, and the National Association of Memoir Writers. Her website was selected by The Write Life as one of the Top 100 Best Websites for Writers in 2014 and 2015. Find Brooke online on Facebook.com/WarnerCoaching and @brooke_warner.