Free Online Event 

Why Tara Westover's EDUCATED Is an Education in Memoir Writing and Staying True to Story 

The Newest Installment of the Write Your Memoir in Six Months Bestseller Series 

Brooke Warner Presenter 

Linda Joy Myers Presenter 

September
10

Monday, September 10

  • 4:00pm - 5:00pm (Pacific)
  • 6:00pm - 7:00pm (Central)
  • 7:00pm - 8:00pm (Eastern)

 It’s the rare memoir that comes along and captures national attention with such intensity. Tara Westover’s Educated, published earlier this year to rave reviews, is the story of a girl born to survivalists in the mountains of Idaho.  

Educated is the newest coming-of-age memoir to land on the best-seller list, proving once again the appetite for stories about lives on the margins.  

 HERE'S WHAT WE'LL BE COVERING IN THIS FREE HOUR: 

  • The art of writing multiple themes. Tara’s written a coming-of-age story that’s strongly about fundamentalism/religion, family, abuse, self-invention. 
  • Writing what you don’t remember—tools, strategies, and devices for writing through the gaps and scenes that others remember differently. 
  • Using figures of speech to elevate your memoir. Tara has really interesting metaphors and similes. 
  • Writing the truth of your experience and ways to manage the fear and the fallout.